## IEEE Information Theory Society Board of Governors Meeting The Westin Seattle, Seattle, WA, USA, July 8, 2006

## Mehul Motani

Attendees: John Anderson, Alexei Ashikhmin, Guisseppe Caire, Daniel Costello, Thomas Cover, Richard Cox, Anthony Ephremides, Dave Forney, Marc Fossorier, Andrea Goldsmith, Alex Grant, Hideki Imai, Torleiv Kløve, Ralf Koetter, Frank Kschischang, J. Nicholas Laneman, Steven W. McLaughlin, Muriel Médard, Urbashi Mitra, Mehul Motani, David L. Neuho, Vincent Poor, Bixio Rimoldi, Nela Rybowicz, Anant Sahai, Shlomo Shamai, Ulrich

The financial activities of the Society conferences and workshops was reported in the Treasurer's report online.

- 7. Matters related to Symposia and Workshops were then discussed.
  - (a) ISIT 2009 Seoul: Vince Poor summarized the progress of the organization. There

The Board unanimously approved the motion.

There was a motion for the Workshop to place their proceedings on IEEEXplore, without any fee paid by the Society.

The Board unanimously approved the motion.

(n) Technical Co-Sponsorship of NetCod 2007: Ken Zeger described the 1-day Net-

12. Bixio Rimoldi presented the Awards Committee report.

The Awards Committee recommends that the Best Paper Award be given to the following paper:

Universal compression of memoryless sources over unknown alphabets, A. Orlitsky, N.P. Santhanam, and J. Zhang, IEEE Transactions on Information Theory, IT-50:7 (July 2004), pp. 1469-1481.

The Board unanimously accepts the recommendation of the Awards Committee.

The Awards Committee recommends that the IT Society Chapter of the Year Award be given to the Hong Kong Chapter.

13. Marc Fossorier raised the issue of a proposed change to the Society By-Laws with respect to the Chapter of the Year Award. There was a brief discussion.

There was a motion raised to change the eligibility criteria so that any chapter is eligible.

The Board unanimously approved this motion.

There was a motion to increase the prize from \$1000 to \$2000.

The Board unanimously approved this motion.

There was a motion to change the procedure so that the winner for year XX is recognized at ISIT in year XX and to recognize the Chapter Chairs at a lunch at ISIT XX.

The Board unanimously approved this motion.

14. The IT Transactions Editor-in-Chief gave an update on the Society Transactions. The EIC reviewed the mail dates, page counts, and page budgets of the Transactions.

The EIC noted two special issues with deadlines later in 2006, one on Relaying and Cooperation and another on Information Theoretic Security.

The EIC submitted five new associate editor appointments for Board approval:

- Andi Loeliger (ETH) in Coding Techniques, e ective September 1, 2006.
- Ludo Tolhuizen (Phillips Research) Coding Theory, e ective September 1, 2006.
- Andrea Goldsmith (Stanford) in Communications, e ective October 1, 2006.
- Alex Grant (South Australia) in Communications, e ective November 1, 2006.
- John Anderson (Lund) for Book Reviews editorial position, e ective January 1, 2007.

The Board unanimously approved all five AE appointments.

15. Alexander Vardy reported on the activities of the Ad-Hoc Committee on the Growth of the Transactions. The Committee has compiled comprehensive data that reflects the growth of the Transactions in the past 18 years. Of note is the fact that the acceptance rate has remained roughly constant since 1989 but the number of published pages has been growing exponentially. The consequences of this growth and possible responses by the Society were discussed. The committee made the following recommendations:

- First recommendation: transition to all-electronic publication, with hard copies provided to libraries only; members should receive monthly push email with ToC/hyperlinks.
- Second recommendation: hierarchical organization of the table of contents and of the Editorial Board.
- Third recommendation: a page limit of five pages for correspondence items.